Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Tony Jesselli's LPGA "Stats & Facts," Vol 3

I am back from my 10-day trip to Mirabel for the Canadian Open. Lots of things have changed since I last posted, so let's get started.

The Titleholders Championship:

6 more players have qualified since my last posting. Ryann O'Toole, Vicky Hurst, and Hee Young Park got in via the Safeway Classic; and Tiffany Joh Jennifer Johnson, Jenny Shin, and Hee-Won Han via the CN Open.

Players with most top-5 finishes this year:

Yani Tseng 8
Cristie Kerr 8
Paula Creamer 6
Angela Stanford 6
I.K. Kim 5

Louise Friberg Watch:

Ms. Friberg missed the cut in both the Safeway and CN tournaments, bringing her consecutive missed cuts total to 11.

Players on the verge of taking Ms. Friberg's headline away:

Jee Young Lee - Has missed 10 cuts this year including her last 7.
Birdie Kim - Has now missed 9 consecutive cuts.
Allison Hanna - Same as the above.
Sara Brown - Has missed the cut in all 8 LPGA events she has played in.
Ji Young Oh - Has missed the cut in her last 7 events.

Rolex Mover of the Week:

Brittany Lincicome moves from #15 to #10.

Rookie of the Year race:

Hee Kyung Seo - 475 points (14 tournaments)
Ryann O'Toole - 209 points (8 tournaments)
Tiffany Joh - 165 points (8 tournaments)
Christel Boeljon - 136 points (8 tournaments)
Jenny Shin - 126 points (9 tournaments)

Player of the Year and Vare Trophy

I see no reason to list these at this point as Yani Tseng has huge leads in both. Each of these awards carries a Hall of Fame point with them.


With both Angela Stanford and Amy Yang missing the cut at the Safeway Classic, Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome, and Karrie Webb are the only players to play in all 15 events and not miss a single cut.

Yani Tseng and Mika Miyazato were the only players to finish in the top 15 in all 4 major championships.

Amy Yang had not missed a cut since 2009. She now has missed 2 in a row.

With her purse at the CN Open, Paula Creamer moves up to #10 on the career money List. Annika Sorenstam is #1.


Mike said...

I suspect Sara Brown will be playing the LET next year. She's made 6 of 7 cuts there.

The Constructivist said...

Tony, had Jennifer Johnson, not Tiffany Joh, making it into the Titleholders from the CWO. So I changed your post there.

Tony Jesselli (Tonyj5) said...

Thanks for correcting that. When I came home from Canada I watched the replay of Sunday's round. At the end of the telecast they showed Joh getting in. The rule says that if a tie exists, the girl who shot the lowest final round gets in. Joh's poor final round did her in.

pearshapedhuman said...

Same thing happened to Mindy Kim at the ShopRite. She got in the following week at the State Farm. Fingers crossed for owl beanie mojo in Arkansas.