Monday, November 22, 2010

Sun-Ju Ahn Joins Ai-Yu Tu on JLPGA; Who Will Join Ayako Okamoto on LPGA?

Looking at bangkokbobby's post on Sun-Ju Ahn winning the JLPGA money title to become the 2nd foreign player after Ai-Yu Tu to do so, as well as's rundown of the Player of the Year race and Quick 18 with Ayako Okamoto, it struck me that Ya Ni Tseng, Ai Miyazato, Na Yeon Choi, and Ji-Yai Shin have an amazing opportunity to become the 2nd-ever Asian Rolex Player of the Year. Lorena Ochoa denied Shin by a single point from accomplishing this feat last year. The only player who could keep it from happening this year is Cristie Kerr, but as Hound Dog points out, the only way she can do it is by winning the LPGA Tour Championship. With Shin and Miyazato declining their invitations into the JLPGA's final event and last major of the year, the Ricoh Cup, jet lag won't be a factor in determining who, if anyone, will follow Okamoto. Can't wait to see what happens!

No comments: