Monday, November 23, 2009

JLPGA Q-School's 3rd Stage Begins Tomorrow

The 3rd stage of JLPGA Q-School begins in a little while in Tochigi and Mie prefectures. Originally, the JLPGA had announced that Meena Lee, Young Kim, Teresa Lu, and Shanshan Feng had entered the 3rd stage, but with Lee playing well in the LPGA Tour Championship and Feng finally missing the cut Monday morning, it makes sense that I see only Young Kim's name in the Tochigi field list (along with the LPGA's Na-Ri Kim and the JLPGA's Sakurako Mori) and Teresa Lu's name in the Mie field list (along with the LPGA's Onnarin Sattayabanphot, the KLPGA's Sun Ju Ahn, and the JLPGA's Yuki Sakurai, Ritsuko Ryu, and Mai Arai). Assuming they all play like they're capable of, the next 54 holes will decide who among the 2nd-stage qualifiers will join them in the Final Qualifying Tournament. We already know who won't be there: Na Yeon Choi and Eun-Hee Ji have decided to play in the Korea vs. Japan Kyoraku Cup that week. But as far as I know, Candie Kung, Seon Hwa Lee, Inbee Park, and maybe even Amy Yang are still planning to be in Shizuoka prefecture next week for that 72-hole individual competition to determine who will be new JLPGA members in 2010.

No comments: